775-657-8844

Lali Sekhon, MD, PhD, FACS

Your input is important to us. Please provide your valuable feedback. Here are some testimonials from our clients:

Appreciated Dr. Sekhon's honesty about my neck problem and suggestions to Dr. Salas as to where injections would do most good.
 
Date of Posting: 10 June 2016
Posted By: Ann Reynolds
Over 80 female, Crystal Bay, NV23Ea3
Your team was great, very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. My surgery went great for me, I have had little to no pain throughout my recovery process. Dr. Sekhon is the best in my eyes. He is thorough and precise, friendly and caring. i am about to start PT and feel I can reach my goals. Over all I would gladly recommend their services to any of my friends here in Nevada.
 
Date of Posting: 07 June 2016
Posted By: Carol S Kane
I saw Dr. Sekhon as a referral from another physician who was treating me for back and spinal issues after seeing that I was now having structural deformities and my situation was more than just pain management. That physician told me that he would only refer his patients to Dr. Sekhon and no other neurosurgeon in the area. He also said that if he had to have back surgery that Dr. Sekhon would be the only one he would go to for the surgery.
After my MRI was submitted to Dr. Sekhon and reviewed I was called by his office to set up an appointment. His appointments were booked about 2 months out at the time so I made an appointment. I was called right before Christmas and told that there was a cancellation and asked if I could come in the next day, which I did. Dr. Sekhon showed me the MRI and how three of my discs were crushing my spinal column. He told me that unless I had the surgery soon that the nerves would die and I would suffer paralysis. He was very good in explaining everything that would happen during the surgery and post-op recovery and physical therapy afterwards. His explanations were so thorough that I had no questions to ask. I then called the next day to schedule surgery which was set for 4 weeks in the future.
The surgery was performed as scheduled. When I woke up in the recovery room most of my back and leg pain was already gone and some of the structural issues were already being resolved. He visited me twice in the hospital and explained what happened during surgery and assessed my current condition.
I was then set up with follow up appointments about 6 weeks apart to assess the status of my recovery and was put on a physical therapy program. I was also taken off all of the drugs that I had been taking for years as I no longer needed them. I no longer have any back pain or leg pain and the physical therapy is now restoring my functions that had been severely impeded in the 4+ years before my surgery.
I would strongly encourage anyone seeking neurosurgery to see Dr. Sekhon first before getting a second opinion. In retrospect, I should have seen Dr. Sekhon earlier and could have relieved a lot of pain and suffering that I needlessly endured for over 4 years.
 
Date of Posting: 02 June 2016
Posted By: ALAN
Sparks, NV
Dr. Sekhon has been treating my L4/5 spine degeneration for the last 3 years.
His approach has always been full disclosure of the risks and rewards of each procedure.
Working in conjunction with a pain specialist, we have been able to stabilize my back with minimal surgical intervention.
Last year my wife developed severe leg pain and after a failed surgery at another facility, I took her to see Dr. Sekhon. He knew immediately what the problem was and within 4 days she was in his operating room.
Her recovery has been rapid and steady. She recently was able to return to golf; something we weren't sure would ever happen again.
Sierra Neurosurgery gave us both our lives back. We will be forever grateful to Dr. Sekhon and his staff.
 
Date of Posting: 31 May 2016
Posted By: Steve and Toni Dick
Married couple, both with lower back pain, Clio, California
I was very fortunate to have Dr. Sekhon perform my emergency back surgery. Not only did he fix the problem, but my recovery has been relatively quick without any major incidences. My original pain is completely gone! Dr. Sekhon's staff has been very helpful and patient. Thank you Curt!
 
Date of Posting: 26 April 2016
Posted By: sue
Truckee
Dr. Sekhon is an outstanding doctor is clearly explained the issues with my back, procedures he recommends, and what the surgery would involve. He was very clear with the explanations, gave me a feeling of comfort with him as my surgeon, and the surgery went very well and quite successful. I recommend him to anyone considering surgery.
 
Date of Posting: 26 April 2016
Posted By: Loren Farell
Retired with major low back issues, Reno, Nv
I would like to say how fortunate I am to have found Dr. Sekhon for the second surgery I was needing from complications due to a previous surgery 17 years earlier. I have referred about 6 new possible patients to him as of now, and plan to refer anyone I meet along my path to Dr. Sekhon. Also, I would like to mention that his surgical assistant Greg is a wonderful combination with Dr. Sekhon. Both exude all the professionalism, sincerity and last but not least of all masterful skill in their field of neurological medicine unlike no other I've come across in my 46 years.
 
Date of Posting: 06 April 2016
Posted By: Nai Bianca Sullivan
46 Year old woman with a previous fusion in cervical spine, Incline Village , Nv.
I visited two surgeons 8 years ago but didn't proceed since it was a major fusion surgery and I hoped the procedures would improve over time. I consulted two surgeons again in January 2016. Dr. Sekhon was clear and straightforward in his evaluation. He gave me a more conservative surgery option than the other surgeon I consulted. The surgery included a L4-L5 decompressive laminectomy, bilateral foraminotomies and posterior lumbar fusion. I always had some daily back pain plus my back would "go out" every couple months. The last few years I also had pain down my legs from my sciatic nerves. After the surgery, I had no pain down my legs and my previous aching back pain was gone. The pain from the surgery improved every week. As soon as I was released from the hospital, I was walking on my own and now at week seven of recovery, I walk and have started using an exercise bike every day. Dr Sekhon, his assistant Greg and staff always gave the care, concern and information I needed. I like to be active but always had my back pain limiting my activities. I recently retired and I know this surgery will help me continue to enjoy an active lifestyle. I am so glad Dr Sekhon was my surgeon. I believe selecting the right surgeon is key to back surgery and I would recommend Dr Sekhon to anyone.
 
Date of Posting: 05 April 2016
Posted By: Mary Beth Anderson
Recently retired. Have had back issues for over 25 years., Reno
My first surgery on my L5 S1 was done at Kaiser Sacramento the end of October. By the time I realized the surgery wasn't successful I was due to start Medicare and lose Kaiser. My husband is a patient of Dr. Sekhon so he started the process of getting me seen as soon as I had my Medicare. I saw him on a Thursday and had surgery the following Monday after he saw the problem on my MRI. My leg pain was immediately gone. I am in my second week of PT, 8 weeks post-op. I know it will take at least a year to be 100% but so much better now. Plus, he said I could golf this summer. I have already recommended him to several friends having constant back pain. And his Physician Assistant Greg is wonderful.
 
Date of Posting: 30 March 2016
Posted By: Antoinette Dick
Retired Public Safety Dispatcher/Now Golfer, Clio, California
If you were like me and were facing spinal/back surgery, and had heard all of the horror stories that about 90% of the people that had these were the same or worse off than before the surgery, you would certainly try and wait until you found that “top neurosurgeon” that everyone is looking to find. After developing structural problems that my pain management doctor could not address, he ordered a new MRI. After getting the radiologist report he said that he was coming to refer me for a surgical consultation with Dr. Sekhon. That doctor, and two of my other doctors, all said that if they had to have back/spinal surgery that Dr. Sekhon is the only doctor that they would let operate on them. I thought that this was a good recommendation so I set up an appointment to see Dr. Sekhon after he had studied my MRI. My wife went with me to our first visit. We found Dr. Sekhon to be very concerned about my condition and he took a lot of time to review the MRI scans, both from the side and from the to down, and explained what was going on. He said that if I did not have the surgery soon that I risked some of the nerves dying and that would cause permanent paralysis. He explained exactly what he would do in the surgery and had models of the spine for this particular procedure so I could see the results before and after surgery. Even I could see from the MRI scans how bad the compression of my spine had become so I called the next day to set up a date or surgery pending insurance approval. I did have another appointment with one of Dr. Sekhons PA’s who went over all of the pre-surgical procedures so I was completely prepared of what I was facing. They also told me that I would have to go to physical therapy, for from 4 to 10 weeks, after the surgical staples were removed. Dr. Sekhon also told me that it would take 3 months before healing was complete and it would take 12-13 months to fully recover from the surgery assuming that I went for the physical therapy.
On the day of surgery Dr. Sekhon came into the pre-surgical area and again explained the procedure in detail and mentioned all of the possible risks and side effects of the surgery. He then had the anesthesiologist come and talk with me about the procedure. Upon waking up in the recovery room I already felt that the pain and numbness in my legs and feet were already gone. He came in my hospital room the next day to talk about the surgery and how well it went.
My follow up appointments at 2 and 6 weeks went very well and the physical therapy is helping me to do things that I was not able to do the last 4 years. Dr. Sekhon and his staff took and genuine interest in my case and me as a person. I have absolutely no reservations in recommending him for neurosurgery of any kind. I am only 6 weeks out of the hospital and my recovery seems to be amazingly well. If I would have known the positive outcome of these results I would have HAD this surgery some time GO.
 
Date of Posting: 11 March 2016
Posted By: ALAN DI STEFANO
Sparks, NV

<< Start Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 Next Last >>

Page 5 of 19


Submit A Testimonial
* fields are mandatory.
Your Name:*
Email Address:*
About You:
Your Location:
Your Website:
Your Picture:
Images should not be larger than 500x500 px and 250 kb
Security Code:
Enter Code Here:*
Send us your comments below:*